8 Comments
Sep 25, 2020Liked by Micheline Maynard

Hi All, a journey it has been. I live in South Carolina close to Hilton Head and Savannah. Absolutely not will I eat indoors or outdoors around home. My September adventure practicing much precaution was to take a road trip with the end destination being Manistee, MI. I am here now and my anxiety has lessened tremendously. My first stop was to stay overnight with my daughter Kaity in Asheville, NC. First venture to outdoor eating. I was so impressed. Nobody in Asheville gets out of the car without their mask on; all ages. When I reached Ann Arbor and had to stay at a hotel I was nervous because I can't stay with my mom in independent living or enter the building. Impressed once again with Holiday Inn Express on State Street. Caution at it's best. Mom twisted my arm to go for a car ride around the old neighborhoods. The 2 masked Miller ladies had a wonderful ride. She then twisted the other arm and we went to the Corner Brewery to eat outside for dinner one night. Once again so impressed with their protocol. We could have eaten inside also because they were on top of it. But September in Michigan is so beautiful that outside it was. Being in Manistee for 2 weeks I have mostly eaten outside with 2x inside but only after it passed the Gail comfort level. I am a little disappointed though that people take their masks off outside while walking downtown and they are walking near people on the sidewalks. I am the nervous SC woman who then moves into the middle of the street to avoid this (and cars too!) I will return to Ypsi this week for another hotel stay and to celebrate my Mom's 90th birthday with 3 immediate family members and to Zoom with the other grandchildren. When I return home I will resume social distancing under the Live Oak Trees for Book Club and Mimosas at a park in Savannah.

Expand full comment
Sep 25, 2020Liked by Micheline Maynard

Interesting this popped up right now. We had our first patio meal today at lunch on a day trip to Taos, sharing the space with six other diners and four dogs. I was not uncomfortable. The server noted, however, that falling temperatures and shorter days would soon put an end to outdoor dining there.

Expand full comment
Sep 24, 2020Liked by Micheline Maynard

Haven’t eaten inside since weekend of March 20. Even a few weeks ago when I was away all our dining was on patios. I’m not comfortable with any indoor activity: movies, dining, gyms. There are too many unknowns.

Expand full comment
Sep 24, 2020Liked by Micheline Maynard

Hi, Mickey --

I'm not prepared to eat in a restaurant: an enclosed space, people drinking, laughing, talking. And, added to that, what I love about restaurants, aside from the great food that I don't prepare at home, is the hustle and bustle of life happening around me. With half- or quarter-capacity, it wouldn't be the same.

Having said that, I'm not even doing outdoor dining yet -- I haven't seen any situations where the table seem far enough apart (I live in Cambridge, MA). This pandemic is all about comfort level -- I respect others' and I'm just not there yet.

Shelly

Expand full comment